The Ashes series 2023, Teams and Schedule England vs Australia in June 2023

The Ashes Overview

The Ashes is a Test cricket series performed between England and Australia. The collection is named after a satirical obituary posted in a British newspaper, The Sporting Times, in 1882, which claimed that English cricket had died, and “the frame might be cremated and the ashes taken to Australia.” The idea of the Ashes was born after England lost to Australia in a Test match at The Oval later that year, and a small urn containing the ashes of bail was presented to England captain Ivo Bligh as a symbol of the “death of English cricket” and the need to win back the Ashes.

Since then, the Ashes has been a fiercely contested cricket rivalry between the two nations, with the teams playing Test matches in both countries on a rotating basis every two years. The series consists of five Test matches, and the team that wins the most matches at the end of the series retains the Ashes urn. The Ashes are considered one of the world’s oldest and most prestigious cricket rivalries and are followed by cricket fans worldwide. The most recent series was held in 2019 in England, with Australia retaining the Ashes after a 2-2 draw.

The Ashes 2023 Schedule

The Ashes series held in England in June 2023, the five Test matches were played across five different venues:

1st Test, Birmingham – FRI, JUN 16 -20, 2303

2nd Test, Lord’s – WED, JUN 28 – JUL 02, 2023

3rd Test, Leeds – THU, JUL 06 – 10, 2023

4th Test, Manchester – WED, JUL 19 – 23, 2023

5th Test, The Oval – THU, JUL 27 – 31, 2023

England Team Squad

Squad not yet announced

Australia Team Squad

Pat Cummins (c)Bowler
Steven Smith (vc)Middle order Batter
Scott Boland Bowler
Alex Carey †Wicketkeeper Batter
Cameron Green Batting Allrounder
Marcus Harris Opening Batter
Josh Hazlewood Bowler
Travis Head Middle order Batter
Josh Inglis †Wicketkeeper Batter
Usman Khawaja Top order Batter
Marnus Labuschagne Batting Allrounder
Nathan Lyon Bowler
Mitchell Marsh Allrounder
Todd Murphy Bowler
Matt Renshaw Batter
Mitchell Starc Bowler
David Warner Opening Batter

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top